Mar 25

Physics & Astronomy Offices are Closed

In order to comply with recent public health statements from our Provost, in consultation with OUHSC and the Centers for Disease Control, our departmental offices...

Mar 04

Oklahoma OKPVRI Symposium on April 10th/11th 2020 -CANCELED!

The annual OKPVRI Symposium will this year take place at the University of Oklahoma on Friday 10th/Saturday 11th April. This meeting brings together researchers...

Feb 20

Wisniewski helps to validate sub-Neptunian size exoplanet

 A multi-university team of researchers, including OU's John Wisniewski, has validated that a candidate planet signal originally detected by the Kepler space telescope is...

Jan 24

Department holds successful Conference for Undergraduate Women in Physics

The Department of Physics and Astronomy hosted the Conference for Undergraduate Women in Physics (CUWiP2020 @ OU) on January 17-19, 2020. The conference was attended by about 130...

Dec 19

Newsletter 2019

More News...


Women in Physics
HEP Journal Club
HEP Seminar
CMP Seminar
Astronomy Journal Club
CMP Journal Club
Faculty Research Seminar
Postcards from the Universe
Public Lecture
Special Event
Star Party

Astronomy Journal Club

Apr 03, 2020 12:30 pm

Nielsen Hall 103 - Anthony Burrow & Joseph Choi

CMP Journal Club

Apr 09, 2020 12:30 pm

Lin Hall 105 - Geo Jose


Apr 09, 2020 3:45 pm

Nielsen Hall 170 (Neal F. Lane Auditorium) - Jessica Metcalfe
Multi-Boson Physics at the Large Hadron Collider

Astronomy Journal Club

Apr 10, 2020 12:30 pm

Nielsen Hall 103 - Kellen Lawson & Adam Moss

CMP Journal Club

Apr 16, 2020 12:30 pm

Lin Hall 105 - Brandon Durant

More Events...
Research Figure

Featured Research: OU physicists awarded European Physics Society prize

The European Physical Society has awarded the the CDF and DZero collaborations with the prestigous 2019 High Energy and Particle Physics Prize "for the discovery of the top quark and the detailed measurement of its properties."

Several members of the OU Physics & Astronomy department are members of the DZero collaboration, including faculty members Patrick Skubic, Phillip Gutierrez, Michael Strauss, and Brad Abbott.