Mar 16

Undergraduates Awarded Summer Internships

Congratulations to our astrophysics & physics majors who have accepted summer internship positions: Anthony Burrow (OU), Brandon Curd (Leiden Observatory), Tarryn Kahre (SETI Institute), Marcus Keil (Lehigh University), Taylor Murphy ...

Jan 05

Brian Friesen wins 2015 AAS Doxsey Prize

OU astronomy graduate student Brian Frisen was a 2015 recipient of the American Astronomical Society's (AAS) Rodger Doxsey Travel Prize.  The prize was awarded based on the scientific merit of...

Dec 02

Kim Milton elected member of the American Physical Society

Professor Kim Milton is now a Fellow of the American Physics Society (APS). He was cited "For studies of the development of quantum field theory in the 20th century, particularly...

Nov 07

OU Researcher Explores Planetary Construction Yards

Over the past few years, astronomers have found an incredible diversity in the architecture of exoplanetary systems, as well as the planets themselves. Prof. Wisniewski collaborated in a ...

Aug 15

OU student awarded Astronaut Scholarship

Please congratulate Daniel J. Grimmer for receiving a $10,000.00 award from the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation. Please see this Norman Transcript article for more details.

More News...
Research Nugget

Research Highlight: Finding the Big W

The image shows a candidate W boson production event at the Atlas detector at Large Hadron Collider (LHC) at the CERN international research facility. The LHC is a proton-proton collider operating at center-of-mass energy 7 trillion electron volts. In this event the W boson has decayed to an electron plus a neutrino in the final state. The OU High Energy Physics group is heavily involved with the LHC Atlas detector.