George Lynn Cross Research Professorship

The Regents Professorship was established on November 12, 1943 on action by the University Regents. The first four appointments were effective January 1, 1944. Upon his retirement from the University in 1968, the Regents named this professorship for George Lynn Cross. The criteria for selection provide: to qualify for a George Lynn Cross Research Professorship a faculty member must have demonstrated outstanding leadership over a period of years in his or her field of learning or creative activity and have been recognized by peers for distinguished contributions to knowledge or distinguished creative work. The appointment is for life.

  • 2014 Howie Baer
  • 2011 Eddie Baron
  • 2007 Kimball Milton
  • 2005 Gregory Parker
  • 1987 David Branch
  • 1985 David Golden
  • 1965 Chun Lin
  • 1961 Richard Fowler
  • 1944 J. Rud Nielsen