David Ross Boyd Professorship

The David Ross Boyd Professorship was approved by the Board of Regents on June 14, 1945 and is named for the first President of the University. The first appointments were effective June 14, 1946. To qualify for a David Ross Boyd Professorship a faculty member must have consistently demonstrated outstanding teaching, guidance, and leadership for students in an academic discipline or in an interdisciplinary program within the University. When the professorship was first established, the policy provided that only two could be named in one year and the terms were for five years, though the individuals could be reappointed. The appointments, now, are for life.

  • 2012 Michael Strauss
  • 2011 Stewart Ryan
  • 2004 Richard Henry
  • 2002 John Cowan
  • 1993 Michael Morrison