Department News

Jul 01, 2018 - CAREER: Control of Spatial Quantum Correlations for Enhanced Quantum Networks

Dr. Alberto Marino has been awarded $105,401.00 by the National Science Foundation.

Jun 07, 2018 - Dabbieri named 2018 Astronaut Scholar

HDL student Collin Dabbieri has been named one of the 2018/19 Astronaut Scholars of the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation (ASF). This scholarship recognizes an elite group of students in the US with exemplary academic performance, ingenuity and unique aptitude for research.

The incoming Astronaut Scholars are invited to attend the ASF Innovators Gala in Washington DC in September, where they will receive the Neil Armstrong Award of Excellence, recognizing their achievements. An astronaut will present all Astronaut Scholars with their award on stage during the Saturday night gala.  

Congrats Collin!

May 16, 2018 - EW Step 2: Understanding the Evolution of the Primordial Kuiper Belt During the Solary System’s Earl

Dr. Nathan Kaib has been awarded $115,000.00 by NASA Headquarters

May 07, 2018 - Matt Clements leads work exploring the early history of Mars

A University of Oklahoma astrophysics team led by Matt Clement explains why the growth of Mars was stunted by an orbital instability among the outer solar system's giant planets in a new study on the evolution of the young solar system.  Read more about the press release 

Apr 11, 2018 - Matthew Peters named 2018 Goldwater Scholar

OU physics/astronomy major Matthew Peters has been named a 2018 Goldwater Scholar.  Read more about Matthew's success here: Goldwater Scholar.  Congrats Matthew!!

Apr 01, 2018 - Linking the Jet, Inner Disk, and Outer Disk of HD163296

Dr. John Wisniewski has been awarder $77,000.00 by the Space Telescope Science Institute

Jan 29, 2018 - Double Degenerates in the Solar Neighborhood

Dr. Muk Kilic has been awarded $12,750.00 by NASA Headquarters.

Jan 29, 2018 - Alum Berdis wins prestigious NASA Fellowship

Physics & Astronomy undergraduate alumnus Jodi Berdis recently won a prestigious NASA Jenkins Fellowship, described in more detail here.  Congrats Jodi!!

Jan 25, 2018 - Neal Lane publishes op-ed piece in NYT

Neal Lane, a member of the department's Board of Visitors, recently coauthored an op-ed article in the New York Times. The piece alludes to the dangers of public policies that are not anchored in solid scientific advice, and notes that the White House has not nomimated a presidential science advisor yet. Neal Lane was the science advisor to President Bill Clinton and is a senior fellow in science and technology at the Baker Institute at Rice University. The complete article can be found at:


Jan 22, 2018 - Outflow Entergetics in the Heart of HGG 1335:  FIFI-LS Spectroscopy of the SVS13/HH 7-11 Region

Dr. John Toin has been awarded $91,700.00 by NASA Headquarters

Page 3 of 17 pages:  < 1 2 3 4 5 >  Last ›